In Lilt, all translation data is organized into Lilt Memories. Each Lilt Memory is designated by a language pair and aggregates the following linguistic assets:

  • Translation Memory (one or many): A collection of source/target TM entries (previously translated segments). 
  • Termbase (zero or many): A collection of source/target TB entries (glossary terms that help to maintain consistent terminology usage).
  • Lilt Translate Engine: A self-learning neural translation system.

Note that there can be more than one Lilt Memory for a given language pair.

Each Project in Lilt is associated with one Lilt Memory, and only uses the resources from that Lilt Memory. Multiple Projects can share the same Lilt Memory.

Managing your Lilt Memories

Managing your Lilt Memories is an important part of localization. To get started, navigate to the Memories tab in the upper-right.

Inside the Memories tab are two pages:

  • My Memories: Displays all Lilt Memories you are the owner of.
  • All Memories: Displays all Lilt Memories you are the owner of, in addition to Lilt Memories for Projects where you are the manager.

Lilt Memories are grouped into sections based on language pair. Use the search bar to filter Lilt Memories by language code or Memory name.

Each Lilt Memory is displayed as a card with the following information:

  • Lilt Memory name
  • Lilt Memory languages
  • total words within the Lilt Memory
  • date the Lilt Memory was last updated

Create a Lilt Memory

Lilt Memories can be created at any time under the Memories tab or during Job Creation.

To create a new Lilt Memories through the Memories tab, click the Create new memory button in the upper-righty.

This will open a popup box with the following fields to fill out in order to create your new Lilt Memory:

  • Memory name: The name of the Lilt Memory.
  • Source: The source language of the Lilt Memory.
  • Target: The target language of the Lilt Memory.
  • Adaptive memory: Whether to enable Lilt's Adaptive Memory for MT suggestions.

After filling in the fields, click the Create button to create the Lilt Memory. Once created, you can Upload Memory Files to it, and you can make use of the Lilt Memory in your Projects.

Default Lilt Memories

Whenever a Lilt Memory is created that uses a new language pair, Lilt also creates a Default Lilt Memory for that language pair. Default Lilt Memories are distinguished by the Default text next to the Memory name.

Each language pair must have exactly one Default Lilt Memory. The Lilt Memory set as the default cannot be deleted. However, administrators and managers can change the Default Lilt Memory for a language pair by clicking the Edit memory dropdown and selecting the option to Set as default memory.

Delete a Lilt Memory

Clicking the Delete memory button on a Lilt Memory card opens a popup to confirm that you want to permanently delete the Lilt Memory.

Edit a Lilt Memory

Updating a Lilt Memory will affect all Projects using that Lilt Memory (with no latency). Your translators are guaranteed to always be working with the most up-to-date version of the Memory.

Click on the Lilt Memory's name or the Edit memory button to open up the Lilt Memory, where you can edit all the contents and settings of the selected Lilt Memory.

From inside the Memory view, you can access all the Memory Settings and contents of the selected Lilt Memory to Managing Termbase and Translation Memory Entries.

Manage resources

The Manage resources page on the left sidebar lets you Upload TB/TM Files to the selected Lilt Memory.

Manage QA rules

QA rules are a list of phrases that the QA check ignores when searching for QA issues. QA rules are tied to specific Lilt Memories.

Add or remove QA rules in a Lilt Memory

For users with access to the organization’s Lilt Memories (which by default is Managers and Administrators), QA rules can be added and managed from Memories > Manage QA.

From the Manage QA page, type in the Search bar to actively filter which rules are displayed.

To remove an existing rule, click on the trash can icon next to the rule.

To add a new QA rule, type the rule into the text box at the bottom and click the check mark.

Adding QA rules from within Lilt Translate

For users with Create/edit terminology data permissions (which by default is Managers and Administrators), QA rules can be added from inside Lilt Translate by following the step below.

  1. Open the File tab and click Run full QA check. All found errors will be highlighted in red.
  2. Click on a red highlighted error to open the QA menu.
  3. In the QA menu, click Add "[error phrase]" to QA rules. This will add the error phrase to the QA rules of the associated Lilt Memory.

Once an error is added to the QA rules, it will no longer show as an error when running a QA check.

Export translation memory or termbase

While Lilt Memories cannot be downloaded, translation memories and termbases can be downloaded.

To download all translation memory (TM) entries or all termbase (TB) entries in a Lilt Memory, click the Export memory as TMX or Export termbase as CSV button on the left sidebar.

To download only specific TM entries or TB entries, open the Manage memory page, select the desired entries, and then clicking the TM entries or TB entries button.

Manage Lilt Memories from Projects

In addition to managing Lilt Memories from the Memories tab, Lilt allows you to manage a Project’s associated Lilt Memory directly from the Project view. This is done by clicking the Memory button to open a dropdown menu, and then selecting the dropdown option for the action you want to perform.