Machine Translation (MT) suggestions can degrade over time if poor Translation Memory (TM) data is uploaded to your Lilt Memories. To help you manage MT quality, the Lilt platform allows you to do the following:

  • Reset the MT.
  • Purge a Lilt Memory.
  • Preserve a Lilt Memory.

See the TM Size and Content Guidelines article for guidelines on what TM data is best suited for Lilt.

Resetting the MT

If you feel the Machine Translation quality for a given Lilt Memory has degraded over time, you can Reset the MT by following these steps:

  1. Open the Memories tab.
  2. Open the desired Lilt Memory by clicking on the Lilt Memory name or clicking the Edit memory button.
  3. Open the Settings page.
  4. Under the Reset MT section, click the Reset button to open a popup where you will need to confirm you want to reset the MT.

Reset the MT to perform the following:

  • reset the Lilt Translate automatic suggestions to a clean slate
  • re-train the MT model on all confirmed segments in the Lilt Memory

Note: when resetting the MT, your TB and TM entries will remain untouched.

Purging a memory

You can restore your Lilt Memory to a clean slate by purging the Lilt Memory:

  1. Open the Memories tab.
  2. Open the desired Lilt Memory by clicking on the Lilt Memory name or clicking the Edit memory button.
  3. Open the Settings page.
  4. Under the Purge memory section, click the Purge memory button to open a popup where you will need to confirm you want to purge the Lilt Memory.

Purge the Lilt Memory to perform the following:

  • remove all the custom TB and TM entries from the Lilt Memory
  • reset the Lilt Translate automatic suggestions to a clean state; does not retrain on the existing TM data

Preserving Lilt Memories by disabling adaptive memory

By default, Lilt Memories adapt to both uploaded TMX files and the linguistic activity of translators and reviewers in Lilt Translate. If at any point you need to stop a Lilt Memory from adapting any further, you can do so by disabling the Adaptive memory option within the Lilt Memory.

Disabling adaptive memory when creating a new Lilt Memory

During the creation of a new Lilt Memory, toggle off the option for Adaptive memory and then continue with creating the Lilt Memory.

Disabling adaptive memory on an existing Lilt Memory

  1. Open the Memories tab.
  2. Open the desired Lilt Memory by clicking on the Lilt Memory name or clicking the Edit memory button.
  3. Open the Settings page.
  4. Toggle Adaptive memory to the desired setting. This can be enabled/disabled at any time.